Loading ads...
No ads

Overview of The Mount Sinai Hospital

Founded in 1852, The Mount Sinai Hospital is a 1,134-bed, tertiary-care teaching facility acclaimed internationally for excellence in clinical care.

The Mount Sinai Hospital consistently earns Magnet status for nursing care, and it is the only medical center in New York State to earn Disease-Specific Care Comprehensive Stroke Center Certification from The Joint Commission. The institution also received a Health Care Innovation Award from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to open the first geriatric emergency department in New York City, and its Mount Sinai Access service is one of the largest and most sophisticated inpatient transfer services in the city.

Total beds: 1134

Hospital Type: Acute Care Hospital

No of Affiliated Doctors: 1679

Affiliated Providers :
Show all 1679 doctors

Patient ratings

of The Mount Sinai Hospital

Overall

(4.6/5)

Doctor's care

(4.5/5)

Nursing care

(4.5/5)

Food Services

(4.4/5)

Speciality Summary

Dermatology ( Skin )

(4.9/5)

Cardiology (Heart Problems)

(5/5)

Urology

(5/5)

Emergency Room

(4.3/5)

Psychiatry

(4.5/5)

Medical admission

(4.1/5)

Orthopaedics (Bones and Joints)

(4.5/5)

Pediatrics

(5/5)

ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

(4.8/5)

Oncology (Cancer)

(5/5)

Eye Care

(5/5)

Gastroenterology (Stomach)

(4.5/5)

Surgery

(4.4/5)

Medicare Quality data

The Medicare quality data presented below is derived from the www.cms.gov hospital compare data. Star ratings are limited in scope to the data sources they are derived from. The Hospital Compare overall hospital rating summarizes a variety of measures across 7 areas of quality into a single rating for each hospital.


Overall rating

(2/5)

Patient Experience

(1/5)

Safety of care

(3/5)

Timeliness of care

(1/5)

Staying out of Hospital after treatment

(3/5)


Above national average

Same as national average

Below national average

Patient Experience (HCHAPS) data from Medicare


This data is based on HCAHPS survey by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (www.cms.gov).The HCAHPS survey is administered to a random sample of adult patients across medical conditions between 48 hours and 6 weeks after discharge; the survey isn't restricted to Medicare beneficiaries. Hospital Compare currently reports results for the categories listed below.    

70% Patients that would definitely recommend ( 2% lower than the national average )

Patient reviews of The Mount Sinai Hospital

and336
12-07-2020

Services Used:

Very good services and i impress

  • Date Visited 12-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

jam252
11-12-2020

Services Used:

Tremendous work
Good customer satisfaction

  • Date Visited 11-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

emi602
11-11-2020

Services Used:

i love this hospital because its lovated within most of nyc and nj

  • Date Visited 11-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

...
cla605
11-08-2020

Services Used:

Overall their service is excellent.

  • Date Visited 05-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

dre810
11-07-2020

Services Used:

This is a really great hospital.

  • Date Visited 11-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

keo723
11-06-2020

Services Used:

tjis hospita is very good servece.

  • Date Visited 11-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

keo723
11-06-2020

Services Used:

this hospital is good service.

  • Date Visited 11-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

gom479
11-04-2020

Services Used:

When i admitted here the environment was so good feeling fresh. The hospital was so clean and all of the stuff was so nice

  • Date Visited 10-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

nay810
Reviewer
10-09-2020

Services Used:

Very much good treatment in the hospital

  • Date Visited 10-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

gdh799
Reviewer
10-09-2020

Services Used:

Very much good treatment in the hospital

  • Date Visited 10-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Maybe

rge216
07-02-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Good service I was pleased

  • Date Visited 07-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended:

for210
Reviewer
06-21-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

I was attended to promptly, I loved it there

  • Date Visited 06-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

fra233663
Reviewer
06-20-2020

Services Used: Eye Care

I went there to examine what was scratching me inside my eye,got there,they scanned,carried out necessary things and now I feel the pain no more

  • Date Visited 06-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

zip895
06-20-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

Thanks to this hospital, I was able to have better skincare and I can finally go outside with confidence!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

chr267
06-18-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

I had cosmetic surgery on my ear to repair an enlarged piercing. The old hole was in danger of ripping my ear and I was reluctant to wear earrings. I am extremely pleased with the result. I can now wear earrings again

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mic736349
06-17-2020

Services Used: Surgery

This hospital did an excellent job on my stomach surgery to remove my Crohn's disease. This hospital was also clean and beautiful.

  • Date Visited 12-0006
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

Jorden Datavion
Reviewer
06-17-2020

Services Used: Orthopaedics (Bones and Joints)

I waited two good hours tho buh efficient treatment

  • Date Visited 06-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ben798416
06-17-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

I had to have a day procedure done and I must say I had a great experience the staff where brilliant could not praise them enough my sincere thanks.

  • Date Visited 12-0012
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

cie115
06-14-2020

Services Used: Cardiology (Heart Problems)

Honestly, great service and people are enjoyable!!!

  • Date Visited 06-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

emily
06-14-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

They are good but the under my beds and in corners of side room were not cleaned very well.

  • Date Visited 05-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

omo480
Reviewer
06-14-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

They treat their patients with great zeal and care.

  • Date Visited 11-1999
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

thw309
Reviewer
06-13-2020

Services Used: Gastroenterology (Stomach)

Very nice services. The time i visited the staff were informative and nurses are caring

  • Date Visited 07-0012
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mic331
06-13-2020

Services Used: Surgery

Recently I cut my hand at work and I needed to get stitched up. I went to Mountain Sinai urgent because it was close to where I was working. I was greeted by very friendly staff and only a 15-minute wait time. I was given treated with proper care and love.

  • Date Visited 02-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ray568
06-13-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Great Hospital for proper treatment, good food, nice rooms, great Service.

  • Date Visited 08-0011
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mos318
Reviewer
05-11-2020

Services Used: Eye Care

The services offered met my expectations.

  • Date Visited 05-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

aab148
05-09-2020

Services Used: Oncology (Cancer)

You guys deserve more than 5 stars
You offers good treatment

  • Date Visited 05-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

kin504
05-09-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

As usual, everything was excellent - could not ask for more.

  • Date Visited 05-2018
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

kin276
04-21-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Descent hospital, there are better out there though.

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Maybe

kin276
04-21-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

This hospital is great! The wait time was pretty good, the food was great, and the doctors are professionals.

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

val103
Reviewer
04-16-2020

Services Used: Surgery

Best doctors and staff I have ever been to and I go to a lot of doctors This is the most professional practice I have ever dealt with

  • Date Visited 12-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

val103
Reviewer
04-16-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

I have had a great experiences in this place since my 1st appointment . I love the office from Doctors to staff, very attentive individuals!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

tre817
Reviewer
04-09-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

The ambiance of the office is relaxing, providing an exceptional experience!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended:

ved263
Reviewer
04-07-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

The place is amazing! Spotless and tastefully decorated.

  • Date Visited 11-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

sav231
04-07-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

We were seen quickly and they made us feel very comfortable with my son's head injury!

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mar134
Reviewer
04-05-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

They have been both courteous and professional. My life has been much improved because of them.

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

joa797
Reviewer
04-02-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

Provider listened and explained everything so I could understand.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

sco474
Reviewer
03-30-2020

Services Used: Pediatrics

I have always had amazing experiences with this healthcare center, amazing office staff! Always helpful and friendly... I recommend this office to all my friends and family!

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

nat800
03-30-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

The office is beautiful, everyone is friendly, and I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

dav587
Reviewer
03-27-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

I recently came here to donate blood to a colleague and the experience was great!

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

cha295
Reviewer
03-27-2020

Services Used: Pediatrics

Happy to bring my children to this center. Highly recommended

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

cha295
Reviewer
03-27-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

The staff are all very nice and the waiting room is absolutely amazing for kids. I've personally never waited for long for my daughter to be seen.

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

reb868967
Reviewer
03-26-2020

Services Used: Orthopaedics (Bones and Joints)

They are all very professional and take great pride with the patient and needs of the patient. I trust all of the doctors I see at there!

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

gar574
03-23-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Good visit, efficient exams and physicians for sure.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

32.569
Reviewer
03-23-2020

Services Used: Cardiology (Heart Problems)

On time, very pleasant manners. Routine semi-annual visit.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

abr251
Reviewer
03-22-2020

Services Used:

One of the very best Doctors around this hospital. I was lucky to have found a physician in here. He’s truly exceptional, a perfectionist which is important when it comes to medical care.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

hug561
Advisor
03-22-2020

Services Used: Psychiatry

Outstanding! The doctor that assisted my mother was very knowledgeable, very caring, very considerate. Took excellent care of my mother with severe dementia who was unable to respond to questions.

  • Date Visited 01-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended:

deb392
Reviewer
03-20-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

This hospital was where my oldest daughter born. Everything was exactly as planned, nothing to worry about!

  • Date Visited 05-2010
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

deb392
Reviewer
03-20-2020

Services Used: Urology

This was the place where I decided to celebrate my son his "brit milah" (circumcision). The mohel was very funny and the special way he performed his labor was very meaningful to me! I fully recommend this hospital without think it twice for both this experience as other personal ones as well.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

lan874
Expert
03-19-2020

Services Used: Cardiology (Heart Problems)

I was completely satisfied with the treatment given by the doctor Erik Goluboff regarding a heart issue I faced during a trip in New York last December! His service and tips provided for a healthier daily life were very kindly and useful.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

sus970
03-01-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

My appointment was for my yearly physical.I was seen within a short waiting time and found the staff friendly and proffessional.Was able to address routine check up and get prescribed medicine for a skin rash.I recommend as a good,modern and trustworthy health facility.

  • Date Visited 01-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

emb734
02-27-2020

Services Used: Surgery

everything went pretty smoothly. nurses could be nicer but its like that in most hospitals

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ani76
Reviewer
01-14-2019

Services Used: Emergency Room

Been here a few times, the wait time is a bit long, but never had a bad experience.

  • Date Visited 12-2018
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

FAQ's ABOUT HOSPITAL

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

1199 National Benefit Fund, AETNA, Affinity Health Plan, Amida Care, Archcare Senior Life PACE Program & FIDA, CIGNA. Emblem (HIP & GHI), Empire BCBS, Fidelis Care (CenterCare) , Group Health Incorporated (GHI), HealthFirst, Health Insurance Plan (HIP), Health Republic, Hudson Health Plan, MagnaCare, Montefiore HMO, LLC, MultiPlan, NorthShore LIJ Care Connect, Oscar, Oxford, Touchstone Health, United Health Care, United Health Care Community Plan, United Health Care Empire Plan, VNSNY

1134

1852

The hospital accepts various types of health insurance, but individual coverage may be variable. You should check with your insurance whether the hospital is in network or not. You can make payment via online, cash, credit card or debit card.

103 Street Station

LaGuardia Airport

You can request an appointment with specific doctor on hospital's website or make appointment request on HealthSoul.

Loading ads...
No ads

HEALTHCARE Q&A

Do You Have Questions About Healthcare? ASK A QUESTION

Loading ads...
No ads
Loading ads...
No ads

Privacy Policy

As part of my use of HealthSoul, I acknowledge the use of my information will be processed in accordance with the HealthSoul Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. By clicking "Accept", I am hereby providing consent to this use and agree to all of the terms and conditions.